St.Joseph's Girls School - Nugegoda

History of School

The path to success for the school paved after the arrival of Rev. father Thiabold De Silva. The number increased both in students and teachers. Rev. Father W.L Dabarera too arrived at this period. The most crucial changers took place after Mrs. E.T Ranasinghe joined the staff that had passed her Cambridge senior exam, and had the registration as a teacher. There for the school was registered under her name as a government assisted school. There for Mrs. E.T Ranasinghe could be forever honored as the founder of this present school.

By 1942 the existing premises couldn’t accommodate the increasing number of students, there for the school brought to the present premises on high-level road Nugegoda. Arch. Bishop Rev. Father Mason blessed the first building with holy water on the 8th August 1942. Rev Father Legok undertook the planning of the building on the 2nd September 1942, and the school was re- established. Several sisters from Bambalapitiya Holy family Convent visited daily to teach the students. Mrs. E.T Ransinghe was working as the principal at that time. When she was transferred to another school, Mrs. R.R Perera was appointed as the teacher in charge of the books in the school. She served in the school a teacher from 1st september 1942 to August 1962.

In 1962- Converted as a girls’ school.


From 1942 to 1950 Rev. Mother Raphael - Principal.

From 1951 to 1954 Rev. Mother Baptist - Principal.

From 1955 to 1958 Rev. Mother Raphael - Principal.

From 1959 to 1971 Rev. Mother de Sales - Principal.

From 1972 to 1981 Mrs. Monika Ranasinghe - Principal.

From 1982 to 1985 Mrs.Morin Jayasinghe - Principal.

From 1985 to 1998 Mrs. Asoka Ariyapperuma - Principal.

From 1999-01-08 to 1999-2-2 Mrs. H.S. Marapana – Acting Principal

From 1999-02-03 to 2001-04-26 Mrs. E.A.C. Silva - Principal.

From 2001- 2005 Mrs N.S.S. Corray - Principal.

From 2005-2006 Mrs. Kumarasena Yapa - Acting Principal

From 19th March 2006 Mrs Srima Weerarathne Acting Principal

From 20th March 2006 to 19th June 2008 - Mrs. P.R Rajakaruna - Principal.

From 20th June 2008 - To Date - Miss P.A.A.B. Chandani Perera - Principal